REACH - University of Louisville

Student Success Seminars

The Student Success Seminars provide an overview and examples of appropriate strategies for university students to incorporate into their courses. All sessions are in Strickler Hall 111. A printable flyer is available for downloading and printing.

REACH now offers Online Student Success Seminars through Blackboard. To gain access to the online seminars please complete this online request form. The following seminars are currently offered:

  • Meeting the Challenge of Time
  • Becoming Savvy with Textbooks
  • Studying Smarter
  • Becoming a Disciplined Student and
  • Acing the Test.
  • Taking Effective Notes (Available February 2014).

 

Student Success Seminars

Meeting the Challenge of Time

Ideas, suggesstions and strategies for managing your busy schedule.

Some Quick Tips are available for Successful Time Management.

Date Times Location
Wed, Sept 3 3-3:50 Strickler Hall 111
Thu, Sept 11
2:30-3:20 & 5:30-6:20
Fri, Sept 19 11-11:50, 12-12:50, 1-1:50

 

Becoming Savvy with Textbooks

Utilizing a reading system plus legitimate "shortcuts" can help you get more from reading textbooks.

Read the Quick Tips guide for Textbook Reading.

Date Times Location
Thur, Sept 4 2:30-3:20 & 5:30-6:20 Strickler Hall 111
Fri, Sept 12 11-11:50, 12-12:50 & 1-1:50
Mon, Sept 22 4:00-4:50

 

Taking Effective Notes


Have some viable options for taking notes in class and know what information to include in notes. Also understand why note taking is important and know how taking and using notes can increase your learning.

Take a look at the Quick Tips guide for Taking Effective Notes.

Date Times Location
Fri, Sept 5 11-11:50, 12-12:50, & 1-1:50 Strickler Hall 111
Mon, Sept 15 4:00-4:50
Wed, Sept 24 3:00 - 3:50

 

Acing the Test

Organize, reinforce, rehearse, and distribute study to get maximum benefit from your efforts.


This seminar is offered online for Spring 2015

Date Times Location
Mon, Sept 8 4:00-4:50 Strickler Hall 111
Wed, Sept 10
3-3:50
Thur, Sept 25 2:30-3:20 & 5:30-6:20

 

Studying Smarter

This seminar is offered online for Spring 2015



Date Times Location
Thu, Sept 18 2:30-3:20 & 5:30-6:20 Strickler Hall 111
Fri, Sept 26 11-11:50, 12-12:50, & 1-1:50

 

Becoming a Disciplined Student

This seminar is offered online for Spring 2015


Date Times Location
Fri, Oct 10 11-11:50, 12-12:50, & 1-1:50 Strickler Hall 111
Mon, Oct 13 4:00-4:50
Wed, Oct 15 3:00-3:50
Thu, Oct 16 2:30-3:20 & 5:30-6:20

 

Preparing for Finals

Examine strategies and systems that can help you maximize your efforts and study methods for final exams. Be sure to check out the Quick Tips for How To Prepare for Finals.

 

Date Times Location
Wed, Nov 5 3:00 - 3:50 Strickler Hall 111
Thur, Nov 13 2:30-3:20 & 5:30-6:20
Fri, Nov 21 11-11:50, 12-12:50, & 1-1:50

Top of Page

Important Links

Meet the staff!


Download a printable flyer


Follow us onFollow UofLREACHSSS on Twitter

Follow us onfacebook Group


Online Seminar request form.


Navigation: